4XXL not connecting

Hello

I have the 4xxl and my machine does not home. I have downloaded the newest version of Motion and my computer recognizes the machine is there, but when I hit initialize machine (after doing configuration), it says busy and then the program immediately closes. My machine does not move a bit. Just figuring out how can I get the machine working. I am a novice at this, so please help me!

You problem is not likely the machine but your computer. If you are in Windows open task manager and see if you have enough memory and/or if your disk is 100% busy. Sometimes people have issues when they first open CC and/or CM. Try uninstalling the app that you are having problems with and re-install the application. About a year ago people had a rash of not getting the 64 bit libraries to install and that caused the application to crash. Be sure to reboot your computer after uninstalling the app and start fresh. During the install libraries are installed and the drivers for the Shapeoko are installed.

Support is available on the weekends so if the above does not work send an email to support.

support@carbide3d.com

Things to check:

• did you send the machine configuration?
  • Were all the shipping bolts removed?
  • are any homing switches stuck on?
  • is all the motor wiring in good condition and the connectors correctly joined and all secure?

To confirm, the normal order of operations for initializing is:

• Z-axis lifts
  • X and Y move so as to get to the back right corner, starting diagonally, and continuing in a straight line if need to to arrive
  • at the back corner the machine backs off each axis by a set amount and verifies against each switch

Let us know what you find out and we’ll do our best to assist.