8020 Pro Enclosure

The horizontal slats will coincide with the Pro frame, I settled on 52"x58" inside diameter 48" high. This will enable me to use a 2.5 vac comfortably around the machine, which I did not allow for on my last enclosure. Alu-Poly panels with clear acrylic on the upper front doors and back panel. Top will sit on 3/4 ply with .125 stainless plate on top.

3 Likes

Sorry for the off topic question, but I’m new to 8020. I’ve seen it around but actually didn’t know that is what they call it and that it had such a huge fan base until I started reading this forum.

Why do you go with 8020 vs wood? Precision, lightweight, Cheaper, Comfort? Just wondering whether I should start leveraging it in my own builds?

Also, who do you typically buy it from?

1 Like

Primarily it’s stiff, looks clean, and has attachments to go together nicely. Personally I like buying pre-cut and drilled pieces from Misumi. There are a lot of aluminum extrusion t-slot options available, some branded and some Chinese versions. For the most part they will all get the job done unless you are building something like motion components (CNC Mill or printer) and then you probably want to get the real deal.

McMaster-Carr, 8020.net, Ebay are some resources I’ve used.

There are also different ways to attach it together, corner cubes, you can drill it out and bolt directly through another piece, or you can just use plates on the outside surfaces. All depends on how much you want to spend, if you want to modify the extrusions, and the look you are going for. It is not going to be cheaper than wood.

2 Likes

This 80/20 Pro enclosure will probably cost around 4500+ including casters and hardware. Much easier to put together then wood, stronger, no warped pieces to deal with and is also easy to configure, add on to, and disassemble.

Things to consider the hardware and aluminum extrusions are very expensive, 30 day or more wait for your order to go through, and high shipping costs.