Aluminum engraving melting

Okay, so I’ve had my Shapeoko XXL for a couple of months now and I really love it. I’ve done some aluminum cutting with very good results. However, I’ve had mixed results when it comes to engraving. I’m primarily using 6061-T6 for reference. I originally tried my tapered ball mill with a .02" tip and the engraving was acceptable, but not great. I just tried my Amana 45620 15 deg engraving bit with a .010 tip width. I got some pretty serious melting on the most recent run, so I was looking for some advice on speeds and feeds. I tried running: 18k (carbide spindle), 10ipm feed, -0.001 in engraving depth. I run more around 10k, 20ipm when I’m doing contours/pockets, should I be more in line with that? Any advice would be helpful, thanks!

Go much faster…
Then increase the speed of the router when using an engraving endmill. That tip isn’t moving nearly as fast as the shank.

3 Likes

I have no experience with micro tools like that but this is most definitely a case of rubbing and not cutting. I could be wrong but I think you need to increase your chip load, probably quite a bit. EDIT: @neilferreri beat me to it.

Math 101. The Center of the Engraving Tool is not spinning (since the radius =0) and Engraving tools that are Very Slim (acute) angles are not spinning much faster (in terms of SFR (Surface Feet per Minute) so that means you should try to buy/use tools that have a small Flat at the tip (say 0.004” (0.1mm) min and use at least at 60° included angle…OR spin at least 50,000 or more RPM.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice. It looks like the default in the Amana Fusion 360 library has the tool set for 50ipm at 18k (or .003" chip load). Does that seem pretty acceptable? Obviously I can test it, and I will, but I’m just trying to avoid snapping off the relatively pricey end mill I’ve only used for 5 minutes.

Here are the recommended speeds & feeds from Amana. Looks like they recommend this for your tool: