Aluminum Performance Shapeoko 4

Hello all.

I’m a newbie looking to purchase a Shapeoko 4 in the near future. One of my primary interests is to cut aluminum with this machine. Would the router included with the machine be able to do this at a decent pace? I don’t need it to go very fast, but it should do quality cuts with decent speeds. If this isn’t possible with the stock configuration, would an upgrade to a 65mm spindle help mitigate this issue?

Thanks.

Yes, folks did well in aluminum with the Shapeoko 3:

and the SO4 is even more rigid.

1 Like

I cut lots of aluminum on my stock shapeoko 3. It did it pretty well but there were a few pain points that are shared with the shapeoko 4.

First, I learned to dislike v-wheels. They are the weakest link on the shapeoko 3 and 4 (though they are better on the 4) when it comes to rigidity. They also tend to get chips and dust stuck in them which isn’t terrible when working with wood. With aluminum, chips would damage/deform them slightly whenever they got stuck in them leading to faster wear and surface finish issues. If you can keep chips out of the wheels with some sort of custom cover, the wear problem mostly goes away.

Second, the router is plenty capable of cutting aluminum at a decent pace but the bearings are not as good as what you find in a spindle. This can lead to accuracy and surface finish problems as well as premature wear. My router developed about 0.01" of Z axis play due to wear on the cheap bearings. I eventually replaced it with an 800w liquid cooled spindle and never looked back. Best upgrade I ever did.

I upgraded my machine to use linear rail and it more than doubled my speed in aluminum and greatly improved the surface finish of parts. If most of what you are going to cut is aluminum, I would recommend stretching for something that is based on linear rail rather than v-wheels. The shapeoko pro 4 is a great machine.

3 Likes