Atomstack A20 Pro

Atomstack A20 Pro. Was thinking on getting this. Anyone have any input or advice

For that much money, I’d look at a CO2 laser, not a diode laser.

5 Likes

I’m now seriously considering buying the 20W laser module only, and fitting it to my Shapeoko

3 Likes

I have a small Ortur laser, but I only use it for light engraving. I have a 7W (output) JTech that I used on my SO3 and SO4Pro that gave me a lot of working area. I will also be trying one of the 24w JTech diodes on my SO5. Those are powerful for a diode, but keep in mind that is getting into C02 territory for price. If you don’t plan to make a business of cutting much, it might not matter. Also, another downfall of diodes is that they are in a visible wavelength, so not effective on clear acrylic. But they have a pretty fine dot for nice engraving work.

2 Likes

I have an Ortur Laser Master 2 upgraded to a 10w (2 lasers in one).

I believe having a laser is great complement to having a CNC. Where CNC is strong, laser is weak, and vice versa.

Laser: Engrave intricate designs, and with sufficient power, cut thin pieces of wood with great intricacy.

CNC: Cuts and carves really well. But you can’t cut square corners, and what’s the point of having a ShapeOko with a 40 inch cutting bed when you need to carve something that is fractions of a millimeter…

I only have the laser I have, but if I were buying a laser today, I would look at AtomStack and Xtool. But I also feel like the technology right now is a bit like computer tech in the Windows 386 era–meaning whatever you buy today, there will be a significantly better version by the time you get your unit set up and running.

CO2 lasers–If you have a ShapeOko, I think a CO2 laser is overkill. You have a machine that cuts already. CO2 lasers have cooling requirements and space considerations that diode lasers avoid. Unless you’re running a commercial shop where job completion time is a financial factor, a 20W laser is pretty sweet.