Before I Purchase

I am so close to pulling the trigger on the xxl. Is there any suggestions before moving forward.

Which router to get, bits to get me started, must have accessories. I plan to do 95% wood related cutting and carving. I am completely new to cnc engravers. I have a decent amount of experience with 3d printers. I am aware I have much to learn.

One of the things I want todo is cut out the stars on wooden flags. Also create a bunch of crafts and various wooden items.

I seen somewhere online where it was recommended to buy from matterhackers for cheaper shipping, plus i seen you can combo the dewalt router. Thoughts??

I am looking for any direction or advice moving forward, as I would like to order very soon. Thanks in advance

1 Like

My only recommendation, forget the Dewalt or Carbide router, get a Makita, it is more reliable, has better speed range (10K to 30K). The only thing you would be missing is a light that IMO is not really required.

4 Likes

I just purchased mine about a month ago. I waited and waited but have no regrets in purchasing. I bought mine strait from Carbide because they had free shipping, I did get the carbide router with mine and have not had any issues with it. Whatever you get, make sure you get the 1/8 collet as well. It didn’t take long to realize you need more than 1/4 end mill that it comes with.
I purchased tow Vee bits. 1/4 60 degree and 1/4 90 degree. I use the 90 mostly as the 60 will carve deeper than I want. I also purchased 1/4 ball mill. I think I found a set of 1/8 bits
12 of them was around 30.00 on amazon and really like them. It sounds like a lot but think of it like colored pencils. Its hard to draw a master piece with only one pencil. I also purchase a diamond drag bit that has been fun to play with as well.
I will tell you, the online directions are in need of updating. Found that the part where you adjust the concentric nuts was missing. But its easy enough to figure out.