Best wood for outdoor sign

A friend asked me to make him a 18x27 poolside sign for his backyard. I think I know how I want to carve it all out on my shapeoko but looking for wood suggestions. (Outside, exposed to elements, Long Island weather)
Being 18 across my first thought was plywood of some kind. Maybe store bought but I’ve never used MDO before but open to try it (wow it’s expensive) or am I better off jointing some pine boards together, carving, painting and sealing the heck out of it.

I tried to offer him a carved/stained look but he wants it painted like the attached image.

I might pose this question on some woodworking forums but this community is always great so I thought I’d try here first.
Thanks

Since it will be painted, why use wood?

My suggestion would be a PVC panel — you can get them w/ wood grained surface — which once painted should hold up very well in the weather.

If they want a natural, weathered look, then teak or cedar planks glued up — but if it’s going to be painted, why bother?

1 Like

See, that’s what I was thinking but by default I always think of making things from wood.

And the shapeoko will cut pvc the “same” way? Do they make a 1 inch thick pvc panel to work with? Does it take paint the same way?

Now you’ve got me going down the rabbit hole :thinking:

or possibly mix wood and plastics: carve a plain pocket in a large piece of wood, with no details inside the frame, fill it will blue epoxy, surface it once hardered, vcarve the white text, fill it with white epoxy, surface when hardened, vcarve the anchors, fill with black epoxy, etc…you end up with the image as shown. You could even mill away the wooden frame afterwards.

Multi-color epoxy inlays are fun and straightforward. Or maybe I just hate painting and prefer pouring epoxy, I don’t know :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Home Depot has PVC in 1/2" & 3/4"
Good article on painting PVC: How to Paint PVC Pipe — FORMUFIT