Bitsetter and large diameter bits issue

I’m new to Shapeoko so forgive me if I’m overlooking and easy fix. This issue came up when I was going to surface a new spoilboard with a Freud 1.25" bit. The bottom of the bit is not flat and has concave “vee” shape. The cutterheads are only on the outside of the bit. When I run the Gcode to resurface the spoilboard the SO3 goes through its routine with the Bitsetter, however since the bottom of the bit is concave the outside diameter of the bit touches the body of the Bitsetter rather than pushing down on the button. So, my question is can I temporarily bypass the Bitsetter option somewhere in CC/CM and manually set Z height manually or with touch probe? Or, alternatively, is there somewhere I can set an appropriate offset based on a particular bit’s radius so that when Bitsetter does its routine, it would offset the X/Y coordinates appropriately so the circumference of the router bit makes contact with the Bitsetter button? Thank you for any help you can provide

I imagine you could check the Bitsetter check box in the Shapeoko setup so it thinks you don’t have one and continue as normal until you want to use it again.

I find that surfacing the spoilboard is a difficult operation with the bitsetter attached… namely because I like to rotate the facing operation so that the cutter head travels along the Y-axis (not X), it’s more stable then the cradle traveling along the X axis. As a consequence Y- ramping before each pass means that it will most surely hit the bit setter in the stock position.

Even if I wasn’t flipping the facing operation I’d still be a little scared that it would run into the bitsetter. My recommendation is to uninstall the bit setter for in carbide motion for the spoilboard facing operation.

1 Like