Carbide Create to Motion size issue

Complete beginner- I’m having an issue where after I design in carbide create and start the job in carbide motion it’s cutting too low on the Y axis, meaning after zeroing in the center and running the job the router does fine during the top part of the design but it’s as if it thinks the workpiece is larger than it is. It moves off the work piece towards the front of the shapeoko like it’s not centered. I rechecked the dimensions in create and they’re right. I re-zeroed the shapeoko and it did the same exact path. Any ideas?

Welcome to the forum @Lgreen . Would it be possible to post the c2d file from Carbide Create as well as the nc file? It would help the folks here understand where it may be having an issue.

Sure thing
GNH1.nc (161.1 KB)
GNH1.c2d (625.2 KB)

GNH1.c2d (626.1 KB)

I accidentally uploaded the previous c2d file on the previous reply

Thanks for uploading those. What size Shapeoko do you have and what size is the piece of wood that you are carving? File seems good to me but I am a little newer to this and don’t see errors like some of the others here. Hopefully @WillAdams or @Julien may have some idea of what is happening.

Shapeoko 3 XL. The piece is 15.5" by 7.6" by 1.75" thickness. Thanks for the help!

I am not sure if this will be the issue but you should set the correct Shapeoko in the project file.

I’ll change it and get back ASAP.

Also opened the gcode file in camotics to preview it and it looks good there.

As long as your 0 is set on the center as expected then it should be working.

1 Like

I changed it and it followed the same path. I was sure that was going to be it!

Please let us know step-by-step how you secured your stock and set zero relative to it.