CNC Machine Newbie

I am new to CNC and would like to purchase a CNC. I have looked at Xcarve and the Nomad. There is some difference in price but both within the money range for me. Xcarve is driven by belts, has a larger working area and is an open to the environment while the Nomad is screw driven, has a much smaller working area and closed to the environment. The Xcarve is expandable and the Nomad is not. Will the reduced space and the restriction to expand be a problem? I feel that the drive mechanism on the Nomad is superior. I like the fully-enclosed machine. is there anyone out there that would share their opinions about my concerns. Thanks!

Don’t have any experience w/ a Nomad, but the Carbide 3D equiv. (actually it’s a successor to the Shapeoko 2 which the X-Carve was forked from) is the Shapeoko 3: http://carbide3d.com/shapeoko/

Conversely, if you wanted to compare the Nomad to an equivalent product from Inventables, that would be their Carvey.

I had a Shapeoko 2 (which I got for free for doing the instructions), and it was a nice machine — the problem is, scaling it up is a bit involved, and best done only on the Y-axis — that Inventables doesn’t offer a 500mm (X) x 1000mm (Y) machine, and that they haven’t built into the machine a way to fasten the double Makerslide X-axis is inscrutable (to me at least). See their forums for a lot of discussions on how the community has attempted to address this in ad hoc fashion. See http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Scaling_Up for a discussion of how increasing the size of the SO1/2 was handled.

Thanks Will, I appreciate your input.