CNC seems to be plunging Z axis a little bit too far?

Im a total noob to CNC so please bear with me…

I did both tutorials great, i had an issue with my 3D model, which i fixed. But now I am trying to NOT destroy this new machine immediately.

It just seems the Z is plunging way too far and cutting rough, any ideas for how to change this / make sure im not killing this thing?

EDIT: aaaand now im getting limit switch issues…contacting support, damn.

Louis, make sure you don’t just go with any software’s default depth of cut, feeds and speeds. Sanity check against the chart at http://carbide3d.com/nomad/feedandspeed/ . Tell us more about where you are seeing it go too deep too fast. How deep, how fast, with what software, what endmill and what material?

Yeah, I realized that I was in the Nomad section, edited my reply, then decided to delete it.

Still learning my way around the Nomad, and while my post was an interesting highlight of the differences between the twain, it wasn’t helpful, hence the deletion.

The #102 Flat end mill. Here is a screenshot of what i used, and below is a pic of the result (the spindle got caught in aluminum and stopped momentarily then started again, now i have a limit switch problem.)

I guess to a beginner the screen with all those settings is so intimidating!

Pic of settings: http://imgur.com/a/PA4Ll

Pic of result: http://imgur.com/a/FxIw8

I just wanted to make a little sign, the outline gave me trouble. The circled part is where it got stuck / skipped over the mtl. Really hope i didnt really break my machine!

To make a sign, you may find Carbide Create a bit easier to start with (I find MeshCAM overwhelming as well).