Could Someone Give me Advice on CNC Machine Selection?

Hello there,

I am in the process of selecting a CNC machine for my workshop and would greatly appreciate your advice and insights.

I am primarily interested in a machine that offers a good balance between affordability and functionality, as I am a hobbyist looking to expand my capabilities. I plan to use the machine for a variety of projects, including woodworking and small-scale metalworking.

After some research, I have narrowed down my choices to a few models, including the Shapeoko and Nomad from Carbide 3D. However, I would love to hear from those who have hands-on experience with these machines or other similar options.

How user-friendly is the setup process for these machines?

What is the overall durability and reliability of the machine?

How does the software interface compare between different models?

Also, I have taken some help from this: https://community.carbide3d.com/t/cnc-z-axis-issue/minitab which definitely helped me a lot.

Are there any notable accessories or upgrades that significantly enhance the machine’s performance?

Any advice or recommendations you can provide would be immensely helpful in guiding my decision.

Thank you in advance for your time and assistance.

I have the XXL Pro. Love it. She does wood, plastic, and aluminum very well. I do not make intense aluminum parts with a super smooth finish.

For what I make, I would do it again in a heartbeat. Like any machine, there is maintenance, BUT mine has kept square and provided me with the accuracy I demand on certain projects as long as I take the time to maintain it.

Good luck with your ventures. Remember we are just a few clicks away

1 Like

We have tried very hard to make setup easy, and there is now a Setup Wizard for this:

https://my.carbide3d.com/docs/shapeoko-setup/