Crazy question but new to this

I am fairly new to the CNC world and am learning a lot, so this may be a dumb question, But here it goes anyway,
When looking for different projects and ideas, many of them come up and say for laser cutting. I am definitely not ready for laser, I know the SVG files will open in Carbide Create, but will these projects that are designed for laser cutting still be able to be cut on a Shapeoko Pro using the router instead of a laser? If yes, what do I need to know to do this. My thought is I may have to go in and provide additional separation to the parts as it looks like the laser cuts are set up a lot closer together and may cause an issue with a 1/8" endmill. Any advice would be wonderful. Sorry if this seems to be a real newbie question.

Hey Ray,
So i’ve been using my CNC for 9 months and i’ve downloaded some of these files, the main issue you will run into is corners or turns too tight for the size of bit you are using. i.e a 1/8" bit wont be able to get right into a 1/32" Radius corner.
if its a several part project I would recommend importing it, moving the parts around/apart from each other at least 1.5x the tool diameter and creating a cut out toolpath with your 1/8" and another with a 1/16" if you have one so you can see if there is any difference. If you are cutting out several pieces definitely use tabs to hold it all together as the skeleton can get flexible if you remove too much in 1 go without tabs as scaffolding. If the parts are quite free flowing without tight corners then im sure you will be fine with the 1/8". you will be able to adjust nodes to remove these tight area’s too.

Do you have a screenshot of the design so I can try offer some more info?

3 Likes

If it’s a decorative design you might be able to get away w/ using a drag knife or diamond drag engraver.

If you’d let us know what sort of design you want to make we might be able to work up some alternative.