Different Software on the Shapeoko 3

Dear members of the Carbide 3D community,

Good Morning. I was wondering if I could use the Easel software on my Shapeoko 3? If so how do I make the change? Have a great rest of your day.

Sincerely, Russell Francis

Yes, you can use Easel (or pretty much any CAD/CAM software) — just write out G-Code, and use CM to send it.

It used to be that you could use Easel for Communication/Control — if that’s still an option, don’t overwrite the Grbl configuration — if that should happen, resend per:

Thank you for the information. I don’t know how to do that but I think I will stick with Carbide Create for now. I am relatively new to the CAD and CAM part of CNC. Is there a way I could learn all these techniques online?

I’m afraid I was never successful with Easel, even though I had an early prelaunch invite.

We have documentation for our software at:

Easel is definitely a difficult software. Thank you for your help.

Sincerely, Russell Francis

Carbide create video series breakdown:

1 Like

I think this is really a preference. I do all my 2d design in either autocad or easel. I couldn’t get the hang of carbide create.

I find easel significantly easier for quick jobs. The only thing I wish it had was support for more than (2) tools.

For me, I use what comes with the CNC! I’ve got a Shapeoko, so it’s CC and CM - and I’ll learn as much as I can using it!

Either not doing what I want or need more complexity (not happening just yet! :slight_smile: )? I’ll move on to something else!

As my skills evolve - and it’s not a quick process! - so will my ambitions!

2 Likes