Feed and speed problem? 2nd day working with V-groove router bit, and exploded the blade

FYI: I’m new at all this, and if anyone has an idea as to what I’m doing wrong here, I’d appreciate the advice.

I’m trying to carve out a complicated font:
Goudy Initialen
https://www.dafont.com/goudy-initialen.font
With the font height set to 8 inches.

I’m using an Amana V-groove bit, #RC-1145
https://www.toolstoday.com/v-11811-rc-1145.html
Literally got the bit in the mail 2 days ago. Verified blade in it was tight and ran the MDF test (below) as the first thing it was used for.

Feed rate 40, plunge rate 20, speed on router set to 3. Router is unbranded one that comes with Shapeoko XXL.

Tested everything in MDF yesterday, and it worked fine. Takes about an hour and a half for all the lettering.

Today I clamped down a pine board that I had stained and put a couple of coats of polyurethane on to try and “finish” the work before the cutting process and prevent chips out of the pine. I started the job, and about 1/2 way into it the blade in the bit exploded, leaving little metal fragments all over. The bit then continued to try and “hog out” the job without the blade in it until I figured out what happened and stopped everything.

Are my feeds and speed wrong for this? Was it something else? Or did I just get unlucky and maybe hit a knot in the pine the wrong way?

Pics of test and today’s attempt:

The bit is rated for 18000 RPM according to Amana and your router on 3 would exceed this speed, I think it is closer to 20,000. It is also possible that the blade was not attached properly to the bit and broke.

2 Likes

Hmmmm.
https://wiki.shapeoko.com/index.php/Materials#Router_Speed_Chart
says speed 3 on the Carbide Create dial is 18250.

The PDF download for the Amana bits lists RPM as 18000, but it also says on the tools today page: Max RPM: 35000. So I figured it should be ok to run it at the 18000 limit with the high feed and plunge rate.