Finished size issues

I am very new at this but loving (almost) every minute of it.
I am using Fusion360 to model my parts
Everything looks good in design and CAM but when I actually cut the piece the measurements are not accurate. I am cutting wood so the tolerances don’t have to be that close,I would like them within a/16th of an inch for now.
I’m thinking it is in offsets or stock to leave.
I don’t really understand the differences between Roughing Strategies and Finishing Strategies. I understand finishing slows down and roughing is faster but if I have 0 in my “stock to leave” fields on a 2d adaptive shouldn’t it mill it down to the actual size of the part?
I would be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.

Start simple — calibrate the machine: https://docs.carbide3d.com/shapeoko-faq/how-to-calibrate-the-machine-for-belt-stretch/

then try making pockets of easily measured sizes in scrap materials which are easily cut — once you have confidence in the machine and the software you should be able to move on to more complex things and less yielding materials.

2 Likes

A zero in stock to leave should result in the proper finish size.

When calibrating, and when cutting, you do need to be sure that the tool parameters are properly set. In Fusion360, you should check to be sure that the tool is properly defined (for most purposes, the nominal size is ok). Selecting the incorrect tool is not uncommon, and will really mess up your results.

In Fusion, most of the roughing strategies give the option for finishing, as well. Finishing strategies should not be used for roughing, in general. They will usually not perform well on heavy cuts. In many materials and applications, there no need to follow a roughing strategy with a finishing, as the roughing strategy will give a sufficiently good finish. When using a finishing strategy, a good, sharp, tool should be used, as the cut will be light.

2 Likes