Fitting slots and tabs

Ok, in general I’m a fairly smart person. I’m also a newbie with a Shakeopo 4 XXL. When ever I try to make a slot & sort of joinery, the slot is always too big. I purchase the pattern off Etsy and the comments are “It was great,” “Exactly as advertised,” “Super easy,”…and then I make it and it’s like trying to wear your big brother’s shoes.

I am doing the contour on the outside of the line so that when it goes into the slot it is the smaller option. But is the size determined from the middle of the bit or the outside of the bit? In other words, do I need an additional offset to accommodate the width of the bit? Since Carbide Create knows the width of my bit, I assumed not. Also, the slop I get isn’t the width of the bit (1/2 width x two sides).

I’m also apparently not using the right terminology because I would imagine this is not a rare problem, but I can’t find earlier discussions. Any help is greatly appreciated!
Todd

Have you calibrated for belt stretch? And adjusted endmill diameter for the actual width cut?

What sort of project are you trying to make?

Why buy a file?

Is there nothing at:

which suits?

Thanks Will. I have not adjusted for belt stretch so I’ll check that out. It’s a bit of a longer story, but I need to provide three art deco-ish bedside tables for a community theatre production so I was looking for something pretty specific.

I found the pattern on Etsy for a couple of bucks and it has a round top with slots. I’ve attached a partial photo of the SVG file so you can see that the curvy leg is going to fit into the slot. The leg is half inch MDF.
Picture1

Sorry Will, I meant to ask one other newbie question. What do you mean when you say “Adjust endmill diameter for the actual width cut?”

Thanks for your patience here.