Getting a new spindle - New User

Hi,
I just got my hands on a Shapeoko 3 XL and I’m still trying to figure out which spindle to buy. I had in mind a Makita Router, but the Covid situation changes the location of where I’ll be putting it and noise becomes an important consideration. (building an enclosure will be one of my first steps)

I’ve been reading for days, and am about to purchase, but since I’m new to this, I could be making a beginner’s mistake.

Here’s my considerations:

• It has to work on 120V (I don’t have the option to change the wiring in any of my 3 possible locations)
  • Noise is a major concern
  • Quality is a concern, but I’m also on a “reasonable” budget
  • I’ll be mostly working woods (soft and hard) and plastic

At this point, I’m looking at the usual 800W, water-cooled spindle, by Huanyang

They’re all out of kits that comes bundles with a VFD, in Canada, and they’re out of HY01D511B, which is the default model they’re usually bundled with, so I’ll need to get a different VFD. (I also read a lot of hit and miss with the HY01D511B)

This thread was amazingly helpful, though most users seem to use 220V:

Someone was pointing to Marshall Wolf VFD and this seems to be a viable option for the specific spindle I’m looking for (I’m not sure how hp relates to the spindle W, yet, but it’s 3 phases, never had a VFD before, I’m still unfamiliar with what to look for):

I also stumbled upon this one, from Huanyang, but since the spindle is 800W and the VFD 750W, it seems underpowered (unless I misunderstood how they relate to one another):

Would that 800W Huanyang and 1hp Marshall Wolf VFD be a good combination? Did I overlook some interesting options?

Thank you for your assistance.

1 Like

The community has some notes on this at:

https://wiki.shapeoko.com/index.php/Spindle_Overview

and

https://wiki.shapeoko.com/index.php/Spindle_Options