800 Watt Spindle Upgrade Review - 1st Impressions

I recently upgraded to the 800 Watt, water cooled, VFD Controlled spindle kit that’s readily available on Amazon or Ebay. It’s the Chinese Huanyang 1.5 Kw VFD with 800 W 110 Vac version. I chose to go with the 800 W which is within 10% of the HP of the Dewalt router that I had been running on the Shapeoko for the 2 years. The biggest reason I didn’t go larger was I didn’t want the hassle of upgrading my X axis carriage to handle the additional size & weight of a much bigger motor. I recently upgraded the Z axis to a slider, and firmed up the axis sufficiently to improve the quality of my work, but this also made me aware of how hard you can push the X & Y axis before the next level of issues start to show. Also I’m using my Shapeoko to create 3D carvings in hardwood. Most of the time I’m using 0.5mm round nose bits so more HP isn’t needed by me.

Overall it took me an afternoon to upgrade the system, most of the time was spent playing with the VFD & Motor on my bench before installing on the Shapeoko.

Here are the steps & my thoughts about each:

1. Previous Completed Upgrades - I previously added the wiring to the controller card and bought an external solid state relay to turn my router & dust control system on & off automatically. (plenty of info in the forum & Wiki pages already on this subject) Overall this made integrating the VFD control very easy vs starting and stopping the motor from the faceplate of the VFD.

Z Axis Slider installation - previously completed, but not required for this upgrade. The OEM Z axis will work fine with the spindle motor, weight is very similar and spindle will fit into OEM mouting system with the Makita shim that comes with the Shapeoko.

2. Additional equipment required: