Getting started with diamond drag engraving

Hello everyone!

I’m extremely new to the CNC world and have just purchased a Shapeoko 4 Router along with a 120 degree MC Etcher drag bit for engraving 316L stainless steel watch case backs. I was hoping on getting some information that could help get me started (i.e. feeds, plunge rates, etc.). There didn’t seem to be too much information that was specific to what I am doing so any tips/advice/settings, etc. that any of you could share would be a great help!

Thanks!

Please see:

Thanks for the reply. I notice that you are using the pro version of the software. Is the engraving toolpath not part of the free version? Or would I be better suited looking for different software that can do engraving toolpaths?

While I was using the Pro version, I did not use the Engraving toolpath option which is specific to the Pro version — the instructions above should work w/ the free version — if you have the Pro though, the Engraving toolpath will be much simpler.

The MC Etcher is now included in Carbide Create:

1 Like

Ah okay, good to know. I noticed that you had the 90 degree bit set up. I got the 120 bit for my engraving purposes and am just wondering if any of the toolpath settings, feeds/speeds, etc. would change based on this. Would I be okay to copy what you had for my 120 degree bit?

Should I also change anything based on the fact that I’ll be engraving text onto 316 stainless steel?

See:

For the tougher material, I believe you’ll want to use the more acute V endmill.

Prior to purchasing my CNC, I consulted with Carbide regarding my exact plan of use, and was recommended the 120 degree tip and assured that this would be fine for engraving 316L stainless watch case backs. Are you suggesting that the diamond drag bit wont be effective for drag engraving 316L stainless?

My comment was based on the note on the shop page:

The 90-degree tip has better penetration in very hard or anodized materials.