Grounding for your vacuum hose?

Let me preface this with, I am no electrician, nor do I have knowledge in electrical diagraming or flow chart.

I have not had a static issue in the past. But here lately, I’m guessing it may have something to do with the weather, for some reason when working at my SPXXL my hair is occasionally standing up.

I have seen where people have wrapped bare wire around the length of the hose and have the end touching the cement floor. But to get a proper ground could you just stick it in the ground hole of an outlet?

Do you have a copper plumbing pipe near enough to connect to the ground wire? I often seen this done, but I’m not an electrician either and can’t say for sure that it’s the right thing.

The safe way to do that would be to get a replacement plug end, and just hook up the ground wire. If the wire is bare (no insulation), you should try to tape off the other two contacts, “just in case”.

As an upgrade, you could get a hose that has a support wire embedded in it. Grounding that would ground the hose pretty well, since the wire is embedded into the material of the hose. Something like:
https://www.leevalley.com/en-ca/shop/tools/workshop/dust-collection/parts-and-accessories/111962-polyurethane-clear-dust-collection-hose?item=03J6552

1 Like

Lee Valley also has a grounding kit.

https://www.leevalley.com/en-ca/shop/tools/workshop/dust-collection/parts-and-accessories/62616-grounding-kit-for-dust-collection-systems?item=03J6201

Anthony

2 Likes

This is what I did to help cure my issues.

Grounding your Shapeoko - CNC Machines / Shapeoko - Carbide 3D Community Site

You may as well have written this in Greek or ancient Myan.
As I stated in the first post. “I am no electrician, nor do I have knowledge in electrical diagraming or flow chart.”

1 Like