Help! Z Axis going crazy and grinding

Hi, I’m new to CNC and the Shapeoko Pro is my first. I got it assembled, made the newb errors otherwise seen on this forum (switched the L/R Y axis wires, Y limit switch was too high, etc.) but generally got it up and running and even made a few things.

Then, out of nowhere, I’m initializing the machine and the z axis starts to go crazy, moves up and down rapidly, sounds like it’s grinding, and does this.

The first time this happened I turned off the machine, turned it back on, and everything worked fine. Even completed another project. Then this happened again, and has happened the last few times I’ve tried to initialize.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Austin

I would check the Z axis wiring, looking for bad connections or broken crimps. It sounds like only 1 phase of the motor is getting energized causing it to cog back and forth.

3 Likes

Completely agree. That is definitely a phase of the stepper not energizing properly. Most likely a loose connection. It might be a bad wire though.

1 Like

Hey, I appreciate the help. I disconnected all the wires, made sure everything was loose, nothing is crimped, hit the connections with compressed air, and reconnected everything. After doing this it initialized properly, I was able to use the bitzero, and even got most of the way through another project. However, on the last pass it was supposed to take it did the same thing again and drilled down into my waste board.

It’s hard to look for other crimps because of the jackets on the wires, but I imagine if those aren’t pinched the wires inside should be fine?

Any ideas on how to workup or fix this? Also, I keep trying whatever random thing to fix it and then initializing and it cogs back and forth again, is that bad for the motor? I mean, i plan to keep it to a minimum, but should I actively avoid running the z motor unless I think I have a solid solution?

Again, thanks for the help, I really appreciate it.