How to mill stock to exact size?

Hello everyone,

I am very new to CNC work. I have a number of wood blocks that I would like to use but they are a little irregular in size, definitely not perfect rectangular boxes. I would like to mill them to be a standard size so I can do some double sided machining.

Am I correct that the work flow in the CAM software would be something like:

• Designate the model as the size block I want then…
  • Make the stock size in the program a little larger in all dimensions than the stock actually is
  • Run a roughing tool path

I understand this may be limited by the shaft length of the mill for machining flat sides that are longer than about an inch.

Am I close?

Thanks everyone

As long as the material is bigger then the finished work you could just draw a rectangle and cut them to size before machining the project. Depending on depth just do an outside contour and use the center as your origin. I like to use bottom of material because I dont cut through to the spoilboard or leave an onion skin. After getting the material to size then you can machine your double sided project. Most people seem to be using dowels to register the projects for the double sided machining. By having the project cut down to size it will be easier to register your material for the double sided machining. It seems that registration is very important in double sided machining.