Is the Carbide Compact Router Supposed to be this noisy / loud?

Finally have my new Shapeoko Pro XXL up and I am just getting into actual cutting (which works fine) though I am noticing that the stock Carbide Compact Router is really loud and also shifts tone over the course of operation - even with no air and no cutting!

In my intuition I feel there is something wrong. Almost like some weird undersized bearing is causing the vibrations to shift harmonics every 15-20 seconds like there is some phase transition between stable zones…

Okay that made no sense but every other router I have ever used (Dewalt 611) was not this loud nor did it change noises / pitch just sitting there spinning.

I tried my best to record this on video but you know it was hard to catch… It usually happens about 20-30 seconds after starting up. In this clip you can hear it. At about 0:15 in it changes pitch. When you touch the outer wall it feels like it’s a bad bearing. Sometimes it’s worse. Other times not. Happens when cutting too but the machine does not balk or cease performing.

Also to be sure the collet and bit are very secure and there is nothing loose or playful about anything. very solid. Nothing moving as far as I can feel. Dust boot is very solid too. Nothing is loose…

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/qxFVUeL9QUs

However, I thought just a few days ago my controller was DOA because I didn’t see the power on switch on the front so I completely accept that I am doing this wrong or didn’t perform a step like lube the bearings in the router - I digress.

Any ideas?

Maybe just go get a Makita as backup?

Thanks!

That’s louder than my experience.

Write in to support@carbide3d.com and we’ll get it sorted out.

Picking up a Makita is expedient, esp. if you have a local dealer/service center — it’s a drop-in replacement, sharing the same bearings, brushes, nuts, collets, motor, and motor housing.

1 Like