Is there a method to test stepper motor strength?

I have been running into lost steps lately on my x axis stepper. It’s not the belts slipping it’s the motor loosing steps.

These are known good files and speeds and feeds. Yes they are on the fast side but I’ve been running like this for 6 months.

Is there a simple way to test motor torque. The holding power does not seem strong enough to me

1 Like

I’m not sure I see a reason for the stepper to lose torque, generally steppers and drivers work until they don’t work any more.

It could be that friction is building up somewhere and using up stepper torque?

I did inadvertently test holding torque whilst testing deflection and stretch, but this is really not the sort of thing that the Carbide support folks are going to recommend that you do to your machine…

This has been done before, answer was about 18lbs force I believe;

The other way to do it would be to hold the Z carriage back with the luggage scale and step away from it, still not particularly good for the motor or belts though.

3 Likes

Many many years ago I built a small dynamometer to test my x, y and z motor’s torque. (Single motor axis, was 18 lbs, dual motor was 36 lbs). I use the luggage scale (photo) for the measurements. It worked great. I’ll look for a photo of my setup…

A bit crude, but it worked like a charm:

4 Likes

knock on wood, I think I have it fixed. I was wrong about the motor slipping and not the belts, went to tighten (more like over tighten) the belt and I was having issues so I pulled on the belt and it snapped, Im thinking the steel cores broke and the rubber was stretching back on me.

Chinesium back up belts are on right now working on a cut, so far so good, Ive made it further than I have all day working on the same piece of wood.

And I spoke to soon.

Well I think I have over looked a basic item.