Job setup complete setup

Hey yall Carbide 3D leaders ! I have great issues with my Carbide create program.
I would be providing my pictures to break this down a bit further.

Firstly- I am having issues with setting up my machine, I’m at my final stage before my cut atleast so far !

Needing help - What my major issues I think is understanding the terms like stock thickness. I have a wateboard @ 3/4" also my material @ .06 mm . Also do i necessarily need to purchase a tool for my bit to recognize the height?

My router plus bit - My tool is a 1/8 " cutting not @the shaft but @ the bottom . Lastly I really think that actually putting these last few touches should get this wheel rolling. Again looking for some broken down help, not anything like feedrate plunge rates etc. thank you again!!

Your material thickness (.06mm) is a sheet of paper. Don’t worry about the wasteboard thickness, it doesn’t matter. Once you ‘set zero’, the machine takes care of knowing how deep to cut, regardless of how thick your wasteboard is.

The stock thickness is just how thick the material on top of the wasteboard is. To match these settings, once the material is fixed down, you then ‘set zero’ so that the machine reads zero height when the tip of the bit is just touching the material.

You can use the ‘BitZero’ to help automate setting the Z height (and the X-Y, if you like), but it’s not necessary. You can easily set the Z Zero manually.

2 Likes

Thin sheet stock can be problematic in terms of workholding — what are you cutting? How are you holding it in place?

What tool are you using?

Would overcutting by 0.04mm be an issue? If it is, set the thickness to 0.1mm and use a feeler gauge to set the Z-axis zero 0.04mm above the stock surface — if not, set the thickness to 0.1mm and just overcut on Z.

Correct, tools cut at their bottom and the zero is set at the bottom center of the currently loaded tool when it is placed at the origin, see:

Have you done any of the tutorials?