Looking for a little direction in software to make use of time off this week

Looking to do some 3d work and want some input. Turns out my version of Rhino3d does not work on a M1 mac and since neither my wife nor I am a student anymore its going to be expensive to get an updated license. If I need to I’ll do it but… I want to look at other options for now.

From those that have tried them. What are your thoughts on MOI3D and Plasticity? I have been watching videos on both and am impressed with their capabilities. Anything else you might record?

I bought a license for Plasticity 3D and it seems very promising — kind of wishing I had bought Moment of Inspiration though, since it has a node editor programming mode, and wishing I could justify ~1K for a Rhino license so that I could use Grasshopper and be done with it.

What sort of work do you wish to do?

In what way do you want to approach it?

Do you need numeric precision?

Have you looked at opensource options such as Blender (w/ CADsketcher and BlenderCAM) or FreeCAD or Solvespace?

… and I’ll throw in Aspire by Vectric. I use Vcarve Pro by Vectric to create 3D wood products from models I purchase.

How about ZBrushMiniCore is you want organic shapes

I was very interested in aspire but that requires Windows so I would have to also buy Windows and parallel on top of that.

Trust is interesting! I looked into zbrush a few years back but wrote it off due to price. The mini coffee and coffee might be fun.

Sorry for the slow response. Was not at a computer and I wanted to give a good reply back.

Rhino 3D really is amazing… And I wish it would work on my M1 mac… Sounds like people have had slowness going through Rosetta and to get more native support. I would have to pay upgrade prices to get to Rhino7. It is well worth the money IF you use it on a regular basis.