Making a bit tray in Plywood - advice

I have a 24x24 piece of the heavy but cheapest plywood from home depot. I think this is considered hardwood, but not sure.

I have a design I want to cut, just a simple bit and tool tray. Eventually I’ll make a fancy one but I’m new to all this.
Can someone take a look at this c2d file and let me know if I have everything correct? I know I can cut this and have no issues, my goal here is to learn something I might be missing.

Like faster speeds and feeds or if I am doing something improperly. I want to squash any bad habits I might pick up doing this all on my own and I figured a few experience eyes could find typical errors.

I don’t need it fixed or anything, just info to help me get better at this.

EG_Bit_Tray.c2d (1.4 MB)

1 Like

Eric,
I am not a pro with CNC, I just make mistakes and try to learn from them. Others will disagree with me and they are probably more correct than I am. Plywood, by structure, is an interesting material to mill. Every cut into two or more layers is both a rip and a crosscut milling with interfering adhesive. I mill a lot of plywood. I set my depth of cut for 0.10 inches. For each bit I set my feed rate for about 90% of what the default is for that bit and then I watch and listen to the milling process. Carbide Motion allows you to slow or speed up the feed rate. If the router or spindle is excessively burdened, I can slow the feed rate down. It it is running easily, I can increase it, but usually don’t.
End mills are going to act differently. If you accept (example values) 40 inches per minute with a depth of cut of 0.10 inches per pass and use the same #6 speed setting on your router, the fastest, you may get a great cut with an up cut end mill, a fair cut with a straight cut mill, and a lousy cut with a down cut, swap bits and cut qualities as you like, they are all different.