Measuring Z belt tension on SO3 XL

I’ve been using my SO3 XL since 2017. Trying to get everything super dialed in, I just replaced the Z belt for the first time with these ones off amazon: 2GT-520-6. I tightened it to what I’d describe as “guitar string tight” based on the below post but it snapped at the very end of my first facing operation. Is there a more accurate way to measure z belt tension?

I would suggest sourcing an actual Gates belt — much better quality — should be available from BB Man., SDP/SI, and Texas Belting

Thanks Will - I’m having trouble finding a Gates GT2-520-6mm on any of those sites, do you have a link?

524 will work as well — might be enough adjustment for 516 or 528 to work.

Gotcha - Looks like SDP/SI is shipping 26 weeks out on the 524: Product | Designatronics Store | Stock Drive Products/Sterling Instrument. Shorter time for the 516 though.

When I get the new belt in, how do I make sure I’m giving it the right tension?

1 Like

Read this excellent thread by @LiamN.

3 Likes

I’ve used belts from this supplier before

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4001023569621.html

They’re not bad at all, not the OEM Gates belt but I’ve used quite a few from Powge and they’ve been well made and I’ve not been able to measure any deviation from pitch.

If you really want to improve the overall performance of the machine, if you have the funds available, I’d recommend swapping out the belt Z for the Z Plus. That and bolting down the baseboard of the machine are the two biggest value for money improvements on the 3 XL & XXL in my opinion.

HTH

2 Likes

Thanks @BrokenEndmill and @LiamN . I read through the above linked thread on tensioning when I was getting my X and Y calibrated, hugely helpful!

I may have missed it, but I don’t see the same specific measurements for the Z axis, correct? I see that video from Winston below though, looks like he plucks the Z axis and I can just try to do something roughly the same as that.