Mini Announcement(s)

With all the really exciting machines being launched we have neglected to note a couple of other cool tools that have hit the store recently:

We have the new super hold kit:

We also have the Lock Stops:

Enjoy!

7 Likes

I was really hoping one of those “cool tools” was going to be the proximity switch upgrade for the shapeoko! Any news on that?

2 Likes

That tape is a good tape! Masking tapes are fickle products.

But how do cyanoacrylate products vary between brands? Are Bob Smith Industries - err, Carbide 3D -glues and accelerators significantly different to other CA glues? Do they stick harder or faster?

We’re getting closer — the instructions are up:

https://docs.carbide3d.com/assembly/#accessories

2 Likes

My 2 cents.
I’ve been using BSI ca for a few years now.
Without accelerator.
For full XL cutting area sized jobs down to a few square cm’s.
I use the 8oz size stored on top of my enclosure. I had one bottle over a year, busy doing other things, it was still good when I got back to cnc’ing.

3 Likes

I got tired of hardened bottles and tubes of CA a while ago and went readin’

CA glue is mostly triggered to polymerise by the presence of water (or the activator), this happens when you let it meet the atmosphere with humidity, it’s also why it sticks skin and eyes so fast.

To keep it from going off I now put my bottle / tube in a good ziplock bag or airtight food box when I’m done using them and they’ve stayed liquid for me.

It’s the exact opposite of Tite Bond which needs the water taken away.

5 Likes

In addition to storage a plastic bag if you have any of the desiccant packs / silica gels you get from various things such as shoes or other packages place those with your CA glue. They remove the moisture as well to prevent curing.

1 Like

So, what’s the deal with the proximity switch upgrade? Are the existing switches on my brand new XXL not good enough, then?

more like getting us folks with older to your level :wink:

1 Like