Miter Fold Box - Wedding Idea

Does anyone have plans for a Miter Fold Box - I use Carbide Create as I am new to the CNC so other software is not something I have tried. I am looking at something that is an 8x12.

Would love to get me hands on a file for this - possibly making a wedding box for cards.

I wrote a bit about this at:

If you’d let us know the specifics of your stock size and thickness we can walk through the specifics for your project with you.

1 Like

I am looking at using 1/2 inch wood

Dimension - 6 height by 8x12 box

Still learning how to create in Carbide Create but loving the tests that I have run.

Thank you for your help,
Roger

Wood that thick will either require multiple offset passes, or a very large 90 degree V endmill.

Why such thick wood for such a small box? Have you considered/tried out these proportions?

Is re-sawing with a bandsaw an option? If so, you could do the sides/ends out of two re-sawn pieces and get a continuous grain box:

1 Like

I might be able to go with a thickness of 1/4 inch if that will work better. I do have a bandsaw that I can resaw with - do you have a suggested thickness?

I am really open to use anything that will work and be fairly stable.

thank you

1/4" (or so) can be a good thickness for smaller boxes — depends on the overall proportions and the desired appearance.

I would suggest sourcing some inexpensive stock and trying a couple of different thicknesses to see how you feel about the proportions.

I am unsure of how to write a program that will allow me to make the desired size.

6 inch Height
12 inch Length
8 inch Width

Not sure of what cutter to use and how to lay out the project so it will all be continuous with a 1/4 inch thick piece of stock.

For a continuous 1/4" thick box you would need a >1/2" thick piece of stock >20" in length and >6" wide.