Need help in finding the right settings for a 1.8mm endmill milling brass (first endmill broke)

Hello,

up to now my endmills only broke when I made a mistake setting the z height and the tool crashed into the stock. However, today, I tried to mill brass with my new 1.8mm endmill (2 flutes) and unfortunately the endmill broke on the second pass slightly after the plunge.

I am still pretty new to CNC machining and want to understand what I did wrong here and how I need to change my settings in order to avoid breaking the next endmill again.

Here are the settings that I’ve used and which resulted in a broken endmill:

Although the pass depth is set to 0.1 mm for this tool I’ve changed the number of passes for this specific job to 3. So each pass removes 0.067 mm.

I did a bit of research and for the second try I would adapt the following settings:

spindle speed: 24k
feed rate: 500 mm/min
plunge rate: 125 mm/min (I’ve found that it should be ~25% of the feed rate)

this gets me a chip load of 0.01 mm

What do you think about that?

Thanks,
Bernhard

Pretty sure Winston in this video (I think?) mentioned doing things at .8 compared to what aluminum has for feeds speeds.

Winston on a different video using the shapeoko had (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8FA12Q0DMv8&t=56s):
112-Z
18K rpm
320mm feedrate
.15mm DOC

Seems like your feedrate is a bit high comparatively, even though your depth per pass isn’t as deep.

2 Likes

I have milled brass with 1mm and 0.5mm bits. After a few bust bits i invested in https://hsmadvisor.com/ which after a little learning curve has served me well if, at least for me and to my liking, is probably conservative with feeds, works well.

These appear to be very conservative settings. Could it be they are so conservative they are just rubbing rather than cutting? If you have a login, check provencut recipe 978.