New Shapeoko Pro Enclosure

Today, I finally completed my Shapeoko Pro Enclosure. Since I will be working from my very small basement I thought it would be important to minimize the dust and noise as much as possible. I am by no means a professional wood worker or engineer just a simple man trying my best and maybe help inspire others to do the same. I researched countless websites for some inspiration and ideas on building a CNC enclosure and collectively this is what I felt would best suit me.

37 Likes

That looks awesome, great fit and finish! What materials did you use?

Giant front window FTW. I’m still painting mine off and on - should have finished before it was in use.

8 Likes

Dan, Thank you
It’s mostly made up of 3/4" plywood and lexan. I like what you did with yours. Is that drop ceiling material used inside for sound denting?

Yes, 2x4’ sheets, doubled up for absorption and reflection. The intent was to drywall the outside for additional blocking and easy finishing, but as is this knocks down enough for my needs. The panels on the side are just glued into the frame, but I had to use drop ceiling channels for the top.

Looks like you did, but make sure to use as long of screws as you can for the gas spring attachment. Mine popped out of the wood a few times until I changed them out.

3 Likes

Your enclosure looks great. I do not see a cyclone separator where your shop vac is. The cyclone separator will keep your vacuum from getting clogged quickly. Onieda sells the dust deputy and there are plans for a Thien type that you can make on your cnc.

Take a look at this: https://woodgears.ca/dust_collector/separator.html
This guy makes most of all his own machines. I guess guys in Canada have an excess of time on their hands but he makes some incredible stuff.

2 Likes

“I am by no means a professional.”

Proceeds to build a pro enclosure. Great job. :slight_smile:

9 Likes