New to CNC. Engraving depth

so Im new to CNC. Have a self built 3020. Finally got to the stage of playing about with it. Pocket operations and contour work fine but I have got a dozen v engravers (30degree) so I thought id try my hand at surface engraving.
I made a pocket jig so any table slope would be accounted for. And then tried text engraving.
Media was 0.5mm aluminium dogtags as its relatively soft. spindle speed was max with default feed and speed. If I broke any bits id re-evaluate but I didn’t need to.
My first attempt at 0.1mm engrave depth unsurprisingly blew through the dog tag so I kept reducing the engrave depth until I got down to 0.02mm. but the engraver kept cutting through. Now I know why the ‘better’ engraving method is drag engraving…:slight_smile:
Can it be done? What sort of tolerances realistically can a CNC work to? Would I have better results with a harder or thicker media?
If it can’t be done are v engravers only good for thin contour passes?

Edit. Im using carbide create v6/ UGS and a z-probe measured with micrometer to two decimal places.

What does your fixture look like, and where are you setting Z zero?
Are you double checking Z zero after setting it to ensure it’s at the top of your stock?

If the machine is solid & your axes don’t have any slop, you should be able to get tolerances down to 0.001" (0.025mm)

:smiley: machined out a pocket the same size as the dog tag. Used double tape and ca glue to fix the tag in the slot then ran the probe off the top surface of the dog tag. If thats what you mean?

I was starting the run from the post probe standoff position. Should I be running it from xyz zero at start?
I suppose that would help minimise any extra z axis movement…:smiley:

1 Like

You should be able to start from anywhere. I usually raise Z a couple inches to get it away from the part when the spindle starts up.