Newbie needs basic tool advice

I have been tasked with trying to get a Shapeoko 3 up and running to try and get an income stream for a small charity to which I belong. We have a Shapeoko 3 CNC machine but we only have one cutting bit which is a 1/16 inch straight sided router bit ( I think) on a 1/8 inch shank. I have never used such a machine before but no-one else (we are all quite elderly) seems interested or feels they are up to learning new skills. We only have the basic free version 6 of Carbide Create as well as Carbide Motion of course. I am getting the machine to cut some basic designs but the tool bit we have seems limited in that the cutting length is only about 4mm (1/6 inch) and will therefore not cut through 3/4 inch thick material. Can anyone suggest what basic tool bits we should purchase? Any help would be appreciated because I am a bit out my depth. Should we go for quality bits (obviously more expensive ) or get something cheap and cheerful in the knowledge that we might break bits in the learning process.

1 Like

There’s a bit on tooling at:

and the community has a bit more at:

and it’s also discussed in:

Which trim router do you have as a spindle? Do you have a 1/4" collet? (ideally a precision one)

What sort of material do you wish to cut?

Assuming wood, my recommendation would be to start by dropping by your local Lowe’s or Home Depot or specialty woodworking shop and picking up a 1/4" uncut spiral router bit such as:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/DIABLO-1-4-in-x-1-in-Carbide-Up-Spiral-Router-Bit-DR75102/100660697

(or purchase a #201 pack from: #201 .25" Flat Cutter (Qty 2) - Carbide 3D )

That should allow for basic pocketing and profiling to a reasonable depth as a start.

Beyond that, what you get depends on what sort of cut you wish to make:

• 3D — a succession of ball-nosed tooling in various sizes
  • V carving — V endmills in sizes and angles appropriate to the scale of work you are doing