Nomad 883 vs Nomad 3 for milling aluminum

I have the opportunity to buy a used (like new) Nomad 883 (original version, not PRO) for only $1K. I will be using it mainly for milling small aluminum pieces.

I understand the original 883 uses timing belts and is limited to 10k rpm.

Is it worth paying the extra $1.8k and going for a new Nomad 3 due to these two factors? Can anyone that have used both machines make a recommendation?

Thank you very much!!

P.S. I’m an absolute beginner with CNC so most likely I will be breaking things

I don’t have either machine but for small pieces and if you don’t need to make a large number of them quickly, $1K for a lightly used Nomad883 sounds like a great deal.

Check out this video from Winston about cutting parameters for the Nomad Pro cutting aluminum:

Now, the Nomad 3 does comes with the significant advantage of being able to run the spindle twice faster, which matters if optimizing cutting time (“material removal rate”) matters for you. Plus other perks that might not be immediately apparent like the integrated lighting, easy access to the sides of the working area, etc…

I haven’t used the Nomad 3 but I’ve used the 883 Pro a ton.

Get the Nomad 3.

I wanted to machine small aluminium parts and I was just starting CNC when I bought my Nomad 883 Pro, so I was in a position very similar to yours. Knowing what I do now, I would not have bought the 883 Pro.

The Nomad 883 Pro is barely sufficient for machining Aluminium. The Nomad 3 has twice the spindle speed (so twice the MRR), a much more powerful spindle motor and a better construction (so you can actually use that spindle power).

Machine shown in that video is the pro, so I would maybe start out at about %80 of suggested speeds/feeds and move up from there.
I can do a comparison to pro vs the 3, but can’t help you much on the 883 standard vs the 3.
The machine at its core is pretty good. Pretty easy to use, newbie friendly and support is fantastic.