Ok to leave nomad on for days at a time?

Could be a real basic question. I’m totally new to CNC. Sometimes on long jobs I want to watch the toolpaths on, I pause carbide motion for hours or even days at a time.

Is it bad for the nomad In any way to leave it turned on and paused for long periods of time?

Thanks!
Matt

Please don’t.

Stepper motors work their hardest when holding position (a competitor actually had a timer in their software which expired the warranty after it was left on for a certain number of hours).

Break up jobs into smaller tasks instead.

4 Likes

Good to know that you should power down your CNC when not in use, while I do, I never saw this written anywhere I can remember.

2 Likes

Thanks will! Appreciate it.

Whilst not exactly the same scenario how long can one be left running for? For example I have a job I’m working on shortening that says 36hours. I saw a post on instagram of someone taking a job on that was 52 hours on a nomad. Is this damaging or fine as in continual use?

The machines were meant to be used — the big thing is holding position is endless repetition which is the most difficult/wearing for the machines to do — operating/cutting around the working area distributes the wear, and doesn’t involve constantly spinning the magnets between two alternating positions as holding position does.

4 Likes

That makes a lot of sense.

Cheers Will.

Yep, a stepper remaining stationary is just a heat generator. There is always a design trade with steppers between heat generation verse steady state load holding ability; presumably the holding current is always equal to or below the continuous current limit on the stepper but this might not always be true.

That said, I’ve ran a few +20 hour programs on my Nomad and it’s happy as a clam afterwards. Are the steppers warm? Yep. Does it make sense to shut off a machine that isn’t in use? Also yes.

1 Like

[JOKE MODE ON]