Perfect cut one side, stepped look on other

Major newbie here and really struggling. My machine bit seems to “walk” on one side of my design. This has been a repeated issue over several tests. On the left side, it cuts flawlessly, but on the right, it seems to walk and cut in a stair-like fashion. So if you look at the photo, you can see one side is cut perfectly and no indication of passes but the other side looks shredded and each individual pass can be seen and is around 0.5mm off. Any thoughts on why this is happening? I would be so eternally grateful for any help.

Material is 1/4 in MDF
1/8in bit

Post your file so we can look at for F&S and DOC. You can simply copy and paste it in the reply window or use the button at the top of the window that looks like a bar with an arrow on it. You simply hit that and navigate to your c2d file and it will upload. If it is too large then put it on google drive or equivalent and post a link here. Most c2d files are not that large.

Also mention what kind of machine you are using. SO3/4/5 Pro/HDM

Were these 2 sides of the same cut? i.e. Is the smaller piece the offal from cutting the larger piece?
I’m wondering if the difference is the direction of cut (Conventional vs Climb cutting)??

1 Like

Usually a stepped appearance is caused by lost steps.

Per the machine operating checklist: Machine operating checklist , the basic points of adjustment for a machine are:

A good video overview on setup:

Ensure that all screws are in place and secure, esp. on the linear rails on a Pro.

1 Like

What and how was your work holding during the job?

Did You cut the right sides in the picture first?

It was clamped down in 6 places. It was cut all at once - counterclockwise around the letter.

Thank you, thank you! This is what my research last night was leading to. I will take a look at all of this. This behavior is referred to “stepping?”

All the same cut! It’s an L. I just zoomed in for the photo.