Placing and Aligning Material - a couple questions about what matters to you

I’m quite new to using my Shapeoko for CNC work and for using my JTech laser and I’m still working on my workflow and habits and finding out what works for me. I have a few ideas that have lead to some points where I’d like to hear what others do and how they do it.

1. Do you worry about squaring off your work material when you fasten it down on the work bed? Do you use any device to make sure it is squared off in relation to the work bed? Or do you figure that when it finishes cutting the outlines out of the material, the finished work itself will be done if you were at least close and aligned the piece visually?

2. Would you find it a problem if there were a quick and easy way to move your material to the job origin and align it, then fasten it down, would you consider exploring it? Or has experienced told you it’s waste of time and effort?

I’m asking about this because it seems to me that even with BitZero, that it takes a lot of time to align with the job origin with the router or the laser. I’m thinking that I could print a tool that I can connect to the router or laser, then line my material up with that and it’ll be lined up with the CNC position, then I can fasten it down. Maybe things get easier and faster with practice, but it seems to me that using jog controls take more effort to align the router or laser than if I could just align the work material to the machine and then fasten it down.

Hi @Tango,