RC Airplane Flying Wing Project Help

Hello,
I received my Shapeoko and fortunately have been able to really use it during this quarantine and am REALLY impressed at its capabilities and accuracy. I’m a retired web developer and have been really digging my hands into creating 2D things. Now I’m trying to tackle a 3D project I want to make which is an RC airplane model of a flying wing so I can create it out of carbon fiber. It’s been something I want to do for a while a now and one of the main drivers of me buying a CNC.

I put up an imgur album of the RC airplane, and I have the normal sized Shapeoko so would need to do a left wing/right wing design in order for it to fit.

What I’ve done is first try to make the wing in Carbide Create so that I could at least mimic the design or get it close enough, and then figure out how to make the mold version.

However I can’t figure out a lot of things, like how to make the leading edge, how to get the chord of the wing correct and how to get the shape of the airfoil correct as well. I don’t know how to post the c2d file up directly here so just created a download:
https://easyupload.io/r6uhrr

While this is just a hobby of mine, I am more than willing to pay for help on this as I consider it a real skill and more than happy to throw some cash at it. Feel free to DM me about it or post up here any help. And I am happy to share my progress and files along the way in case anyone else wanted to try it out or is also an RC enthusiast who doesn’t want to shave foam!

Thanks in advance,

Chip-

4 Likes

Doing this completely in CC seems like an interesting endeavour, but generating toolpaths in Fusion360 or MeshCAM (or whatever other CAM program you have access to?) would probably be easier.

Do you have a 3D model of that flying wing ? If so, and if you want/need to use CCPro, you should be able to project each side of the wing do a single greyscale heightmap using @fenrus’s fantastic tool mentioned on this thread: