Reducing operating time for a catch all tray

I am new to Shapeoko and CNC, so learning more each day.

My first challenge is understanding how to reduce run time for a simple tray. 1"x6"x10" Oak. Creating three pockets each at .45" which leads to run time of 72 mins. This project is set up to run a #201 End Mill (1/4") with the following defaults:

• Stepover: 0.125
  • Depth per pass: 0.040
  • Plunge rate: 12.0
  • Feed rate: 60.0
  • RPM: 18,000

Is it possible to make reasonable and safe adjustments to these settings?

Or would there be a different way to reduce the overall time vs purchasing another bit?

Thanks,

Extensive discussion at:

and

and

During the actual cutting you can increase by 10% increments. You can also edit the tool when you select it with more aggressive parameters. I like to just increase the feed rate by 10% each time and see if the router starts screaming. Remember oak is very hard and stringy. So by increasing the feed rate you can back off any time you like. If you modify the tool settings you can still reduce but I like the feed rate increase.

Some projects just take a long time to cut when you are cutting deep in hard material. If you are using the #201 that only has a .75" cut depth. You can cut deeper but the shank of the bit is rubbing on the top of the project after you get over .75". I purchased a Melin bit that has 1.5" depth of cut. Suggest you get a few of these for future project. I have used that bit to cut out 1.5" treated pine and many other projects that are deeper than .75". I purchases the bit at zoro.com but there are many other places to buy the bit. This bit is an up cut so it leaves a rough top edge like the #201. I just have not looked for a down cut bit with the 1.5" depth of cut.

1 Like

What Shapeoko model do you have ? The max achievable depth per pass is different for a Pro vs a standard Shapeoko.