Setting accurate start point for my project

A friend of mine asked me to make him a paint carousel for his hobby desk, I am new to all this and my machine is fairly old so am using it to learn on at this stage. I am happy with the discs which I cut on my spindle molder then transfer to the Shapeoko to pocket and cut in a pipe groove etc. I cut a circle with the Shapeoko to hold the pieces and then fixed it to the bed and clamp the circular ply pieces in to do the cutting. My center alignment must be out as when I put the pieces together it looks a little like a crankshaft! I am setting my start point by eye and used a 6mm straight cutter so no surprise I was out, each time I change a cutter I then rezero z and use the x,y the machine remembers. Would I be any better using a top left start point, rather than the center? Is there a way I can improve the accuracy with what I have at this stage.
One of the photos of the tower is exaggerated as I didn’t put it together properly but you will see what I mean.

The way I do this sort of thing is set up a fixture so that it can be reliably positioned on the machine and secured, then I machine it using one of the Rapid Position points as an origin.

Thanks Will I will give that a try, am I correct in thinking the rapid positions are a constant?

The Rapid Positions are consistent w/in the limits of machine steps and homing switch sensing.

They will only shift beyond that if:

• homing switch position is changed (they’re slightly adjustable)
  • XY Travel dimensions are changed (the Rapid Positions are calculated using the overall Travel Dimensions)

Thanks Will thats really helpful, I learn new things each time I do something.

As @WillAdams suggested use a rapid position. However if you have a round piece that you need to find a center you can make yourself a centering tool.