Shapeoko 3XL spindle option bingo

I am a professional machinist, and I am considering getting a Shapeoko 3XL for my home shop to tinker with wood and plastic. Actually I think I have already settled on the Shapeoko 3XL, but strangely the spindle question is becoming a huge time suck.

I just want to roll onto a website and click buy, but no discussion I have seen includes a link to a currently available product.

I would prefer not to mess around with water cooling for now, and I don’t think I need power beyond 800W. More importantly, I only have access to 110V in the shop.

Can somebody link me to a specific product page that has an air-cooled 800W ER11 spindle along with a VFD - or whatever is compatible with the Shapeoko’s control, preferably in the US?

It might be worth you starting off with the Makita trim router, it’s a very simple to set up and use first tool and perfectly functional for many needs.

It’s quite usable on it’s own as a trim router later on if you decide that you want to go to a full spindle and VFD.

You may also find, once you’ve used the machine and figured out how you want to do dust collection etc. that you don’t like the constant noise of the trim router which is why a lot of people go to the water cooled spindle.

1 Like

Liam,

Thanks for the advice, although I have already decided that I do not want to use the trim router. I also do not want to waste any more time trying to “find” a spindle. I have to admit that I am perplexed that Carbide3D have absolutely no guidance on this topic.

For example, I don’t currently know what kind of modification I would need to do in order to fit an ER11 spindle in a Shapeoko 3XL, so I’m looking for somewhere that lays this out in detail 100% so I can make an informed decision. I have ZERO interest in purchasing a machine that will later surprise me with special needs. I would rather just buy everything in advance and assemble it.

OK,