Space Force Coaster

I’m new here and new to me is my Shapeoko Pro. I’m still learning the machine and Fusion 360, so far it’s been an interesting few months. I did some test cuts and I wanted to share my first project while learning from my mistakes.

My first project is a set of Space Force emblems inlayed with acrylic colored epoxy resin. Below is my Fusion360 setup.

I attempted to level my waste-board and put some pocket PVC for a right angle. I have not trammed my machine yet, still waiting for the 123 blocks to come in. In the upcoming pictures just try not to get triggered :triumph:. It hurts me every time I look at it

3 Likes

My first cut went great, I used the bitzero v2, cut my diameter, learned how to mix epoxy, and poured my layer

2 Likes

My second cut didn’t go so good :joy:. My logic said I’m good not zeroing again after I put my stock back in to flatten and cut the second layer. My second cut was off by .124” on the x-axis.

The fix was to fill in the mistake cut with the same blue epoxy and hope for the best. I saved my acrylic mix so it made it easy to get the same color. The mix ended up curing very good and wasn’t noticeable after I cut the hole back in.

The 2nd layer cut went a lot better. I probed and rezeroed the machine and cut exactly where it should.

Right now the light blue is curing. My epoxy takes 72hours to full cure. 18 hours is my earliest time to cut into it so far. Not gummy or soft.

I’m going to keep a log of everything and share the completed project. I’ve learned a ton, made a bunch of mistakes, and learned how to fix those mistakes. Super pleased with my investment and hobby.

5 Likes

Glad to see the new Space Force get some love. I had downloaded some SVG images of the SF logo. I just have not had time to play around with the images.

So I guess the Space Force is similar to the Marines. The SF is part of the Air Force like the Marines are part of the Navy.

Looking forward to seeing the end result Maurice!