Stop full depth rough pass

so i’m new to carbide create and in spite of trying to read as much as i can, i can’t figure out why carbide either leaves this unfinished or decides to cut full depth of the material. i’m trying to make an ashtray and i’ve merged the center section but for what ever reason when i do the 3d rough / finish options, it either doesn’t finish ONE of the slots for the cigars OR decides to cut all the way down into the stock depth. check out these screen shots. i JUST want the section for the cigar carved out fully WITHOUT the pocket it wants to carve. Can someone help me with what i’m doing wrong?
pocket files

vs

incomplete carve

why won’t it carve out the hollow for the cigar on ALL FOUR slots unless i go beyond the border of the square?

It is necessary to cut past the edge of a 3D model so as to avoid problems with pixel vs. vector positioning.

1 Like

ok but how can i prevent it from cutting DOWN like it is in the later pictures? total waste of time And causes me to do extra work finishing. The short goal for me is to carve out the complete space without carving down beyond the cigar rest…

Reduce the project past to be less than the radius of the endmill which you are using.

i by no means am trying to be stupid but what do you mean by “project past” ? My end mill is 1/4 ball mill so are you saying let the hollowed out piece be 1/8 past the edge of the workpiece?

Yes, the geometry should be radius or less beyond the 3D model.

1 Like

First thank you for the reply. i tried your suggestion and ran into the following issues:

What am I missing?

You want to cut the 3D modeling for the cigar box, but then cut the shape out w/ a separate operation?

Draw things up:

Boolean union the two cross shapes:

Draw in a rectangle which represents the full area of the stock:

and 3D model it (I find this easier conceptually, but there are other approaches):

Select the cross shape and Boolean union it:

Then 3D model it: