Trouble cutting out numbers and letters

Hey y’all,

I am still fairly new to the CNC world. When I am cutting out numbers and some letters, the pieces break on me. I am not sure if it has anything to do with bit size, the speed, or what. I posted a picture of what the pieces tend to end up like. I will also upload the file as well. I do have them clamp and double sided table on the back. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!!!

Address Numbers.c2d (84 KB)

The issue could be two-fold.

First: As the bit cuts through, the inside wood could be coming loose from the tape and once the bit hits it, it breaks.

Second, the wood grain of pine makes them very subseptable to breaking in the grain on narrow pieces.

I would use tabs for something like this, so it’s held in place all they way to the end of the cutting process. Then you just flip it over and break or cut the tab.

3 Likes

The other consideration here is that you are cutting a very deep slot, just as narrow as the endmill.

Where possible avoid slotting and add geometry and cut as a pocket

and/or

and consider leaving a roughing clearance and taking a finishing pass.

1 Like

I also don’t see or maybe I’m missing them but you can add tabs to the material on the design page by clicking on the line where you want them and adjust the tab size in the contour tool path it’ll keep the piece from moving when the machine makes its final cut.

3 Likes

When you create the tool path you define the length and depth of the tabs. They are not added there. Go back to design and highlight the object and there is an add tabs button. The tabs will be added where you click and are defined in the tool path.

I circled the wrong tool. The correct tool is 3 lines down on the edit line the last box. Too lazy to fix the picture, sorry.

4 Likes