Trying to make a 20 sided die

so I am trying to make a 20 sided die just for fun, however I am quite new to the software. I am curious how I would create the edges for my router bit to cut. Also it seems there is no option to make triangles as shapes.

I have attached an image, so I basically need to just hit every edge of each triangle, just baffled as to how I would make this in carbide create.

HUGE thanks ahead of time for any advice.

You can make triangles in Carbide Create
Choose the Polygon tool (hex) and then change the number of sides from 6 to 3.

Triangles

I couldn’t tell what angle would be needed, but If its just a test, I would try a V-bit tool and use a “No Offset” toolpath and cut the Triangles on the line.

thank you so much, i will experiment

1 Like

According to Wikipedia, the angle between faces is 138.19°.

Table of polyhedron dihedral angles

2 Likes

well pretty unlikely I will ever find a router bit capable of that angle lol

Apollo,

So I am wondering, because there really is no router bit that will hit the angle needed for these to glue up together.

What if I took a thin 1/32 rounded bit or a 1/16th and cut out a groove 4 passes wide 3/4ths or more through the material, then made another pass in the dead center of those 4 passes taking away as much material as possible so the wood could be bent without cracking?

Do you think that might work? If so any thoughts on how to set that up hah, I am still struggling with the basic carbide create guide. It lacks SO much in the sense of actually teaching/telling how to achieve certain basic functions of cutting/creating with a shapeoko lol.

Cheers in advance.

@gnlweirdness

If your using Plywood and you soak/steam the wood in theory it should work.

To make it simple, I would stick with the v bit, and test to find the best maximum depth.