Will be ordering the XXL this next week

We are about to order our XXL. We are first time CNC owners and users. We would love any feedback on the best work table set up what kind of computer works best with the software, and any other kind of first timers advice you can give us

1 Like

Welcome! I just posted my thoughts to a similar thread: New to Shapeoko 3 XL- looking for tips/tricks

As far as table, the sturdier the better - its a heavy machine so I would recommend buying/building as tank-like as possible. I built mine like a cabinet shell out of 3/4 ply (pocket-holes and glue) and it works fine, but I might look to reinforce it even further to make it more solid.

Computer, as an IT professional I can say as long as you are not doing in-depth 3D CAD/CAM work any old PC should be fine. Start with whatever laptop/PC you have and if its not working for you upgrade. I use my Microsoft Surface Pro and love the portability of it.

More so than anything, I would say stick with it - you will fail but from each failure will come a piece of valuable knowledge.

3 Likes

My unfinished cabinet is made of 3/4 plywood with a torsion box on top to ensure no movement. It has 6 wheels so I can move it for maintenance but also for tiling where the workpiece will extend towards the front or the back. I have 5 drawers on one side under to house the computer, the endmills, the tools and hold down and spare parts. The other side has two doors to house my vacuum and dust separator/collector.

2 Likes

As a counterpoint, I have my XL on an old folding table — one particularly ingenious setup was folks who sourced a pair of Husky rolling workbenches and bolted them together as a base for the machine: Cabinets on sale, Home Despot (the specific examples were on the Unofficial Facebook group though).

For computer, pretty much anything which meets the system requirements should work: https://docs.carbide3d.com/software-faq/carbide-motion-min-requirements/