Z-height issue with bitsetter

I recently installed the bitsetter on my XXL and had an issue today that I was hoping to get some clarification on. I believe the solution is in this older topic link but I wanted to double check. I’m new to the bitsetter and think that’s where I made my mistake.

I was running an Advanced v-carve program in Carbide Create (474) with a total depth of 0.63". I tested the cut on MDF and it looked fine so the next day I went ahead and ran it on my final stock (glued up alder board) and it cut too deep by 3mm. I don’t recall the steps I took in the mdf cut that came out fine but I remember my steps from the messed up cut, which are below.

1. Turned on the machine and initialized. I believe the machine asks for a tool and then does a bitsetter probing. I had a vbit on so just ran it with that as I wanted to zero to the exact center of my board with the vbit since it is easier to nail down xy coords.
  2. Set my xy coords to the zero mark in the middle of the board. Set my z with the touch probe using the top only with the probe sitting over my zero point in the middle of the board. There is no option in the z-height probe drop down for a vbit so I just went with the 1/16" option as I don’t think it matters.
  3. Opened my .nc file and started it. This program starts with a 1/16" bit followed by a vbit. I followed the prompt to change the tool out to a 1/16" bit which I did. The machine probed the bitsetter and then asked for the spindle to be turned on. Then it started and made the whole cut 3mm too deep. I noticed it shortly after it started but it had already cut the first letter so I just let it run.