Best way to join box sides?

Hey All,
I’ve had my pro xl for a while and am finally comfortable tackling some real projects. One thing I’d really like to try making is a jewelry box for a family member. I’m not sure exactly on the design yet but I want to keep it pretty simple: 4 walls, a base and a lid. Maybe an insert tray of some kind as well. I’m still a total novice when it comes to wood working and cnc and am trying to wrap my head around the best way to join the 4 sides of the box. Is there a fairly simple way to do this with CC, programing in finger joints or something like that? or is there a better way to go to keep things simple?.

Winston had a video sort of along these lines here: Prototyping a Wooden Computer Case - YouTube
It’s in fusion, so could be complicated. I think the ideas are translatable to carbide create.

@WillAdams has a bunch of how to’s for box building, as I think it’s a bit of a hobby for him. Those can be found either by clicking on his profile or checking out various posts in either unsupported, or how to.

2 Likes

The term you are looking for is “joinery”.

Fingerjoints can be done:

but the typical void-free form requires a fixture to hold stock vertically:

I’ve been working on this for a while, and have worked up a fairly straight-forward technique for doing it flat on the table:

see:

but it requires having a narrow V endmill.

If you are willing to have exposed endgrain, a similar technique is:

1 Like

Take a look at John Clark’s youtube video on cubism. He makes cubes that are decorative but the point is he makes 45 degree corners for a project like your jewelry box.

Now 45 degree joints are inherently weak because they are end grain and end grain does not take glue well and makes a weak joint. So if you want to make 45 degree joints you need to reinforce them with one of several methods.